Daily Dues

It’s been a couple days since we’ve done the do, so let’s get some links out there. It’s kind of a difficult time to write about baseball, as the signings have dwindled to a trickle and there’s still 20 days until pitchers and catchers report. Really, the best thing to do now is to prepare for the fantasy season, run projections, and think about long-term projects. It’s the lull before the storm.

Nerdy Baseball:

For FanGraphs, I start a discussion about the Phillies lineup by attacking who should lead off. Jimmy Rollins has been the man at the top for a while now, but he never walked much and isn’t a great option there. His skills lie in above-average power and speed, things that can be useful ahead of the bottom third of the owner. Then again, as I find in the article, the difference between starting Rollins at the top of the lineup or the middle is not much. Not a big deal, but, as I said above, it’s the time of the year to make mountains of mole hills. [Also – the comments on this piece were great and helped me think up tomorrow’s piece, so I feel pretty good about yesterday’s post here.]

Fantasy Baseball:
A duo of fantasy articles on Bloomberg Sports today tackled the likely closer in Toronto and who will be the best fantasy shortstop this season. I won’t ruin the Toronto surprise – it’s a quick read anyway – but it all hinges on one small, easily-to-read table. The shortstop battle will likely end in something close to a tie – both are great, and it’s a matter of taste in some ways. I lean Hanley Ramirez because I think his speed is stable and his power likely to bounce back, but if you like Troy Tulowitzki’s power and are willing to bet he’ll be healthy and give you enough steals, I wouldn’t tell you that you were wrong.

I also tackled a comparison between new Diamondback pitcher Armando Galarraga and ‘old’ new Diamondback pitchers Dan Hudson and Ian Kennedy. It looks like they are similar at first, but a couple key points separate the trio. I’m not super hopeful that the team has scored the trifecta of under-rated former American League pitchers – despite his imPerfect game, he’s easily the worst of the three.

Barely Baseball:
After being picked for a close beta test of Sega’s new MLB Manager Online, I’ve quickly become addicted. It’s a fun game that simulates being a general manager – you scout players, develop them, trade them, and improve your facilities and hometown while simulating games – both exhibition and real. There are some problems that I think they’ll fix, but this’ll be a popular game – especially if it’s free. Not sure what the pricing structure will look like. Here’s a longer review.

Reader:
Richard Pryor was funny. But did you know that he was a good-looking dude rocking skinny suits back in the day?

Just in case you haven’t seen yet, Will Ferrell will join the Office for a couple episodes, with whispers that he will replace Steve Carell when Carell leaves the show. Strange that their names rhyme, but their comedy games are so different. I’m not sure it will work. I love Ferrell, but he’s made some really bad movies.

I’ve been debating the switch from AT&T to Verizon next month when the iPhone comes to Verizon, and we may still do it. But I’ve now heard that AT&T will allow tethering, will allow me to keep my unlimited data plan, and will also allow me to talk and use data at the same time. I haven’t noticed that AT&T is as terrible as others have said, but it’s clearly sub-par. Still undecided, but will decide soon.

Wow. This is just sick. DO NOT give your valentine these cards. So strange.

Fuckin’ A right we swear. Now there’s proof.

To my lego-working dudes, M.C. Escher – in lego.

Here’s something you didn’t know about Louis C.K. Seriously. You’ll be surprised.

Rent or Buy? This map wants to help you decide.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Dues

  1. Ingrid Sarris says:

    Just remember that you had to borrow my $20 Verizon phone to make a phone call when your $200 AT&T phone did not have any coverage…

Leave a Reply

