Oakland Bullpen in Flux

I wrote a longer piece for Bloomberg Sports about the Oakland bullpen situation now that closer Andrew Bailey is clutching his forearm, but the strategy point is important. You can get a leg up on other fantasy baseball managers by getting elite closers – but the closer role is so specific, and only closers get saves, and yet it’s a volatile position. This mix says to me that I want an elite one to keep my ratios down, and then I want to mitigate my risk by picking the rest of my closers later and going with quantity over quality. I always find saves on the wire – it’s not hard – so stock your team up with late-round closer fliers (like Brian Fuentes and Grant Balfour in Oakland’s case). Then you’ll own the guy that becomes the closer and won’t have to beat everyone to the wire.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

