Fake MLK Quote Better than Real Thing

So, after Osama Bin Laden was killed, there was a lot of rejoicing. This quote was sent around, supposedly from Martin Luther King, Jr.

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy.” – Martin Luther King, Jr

Apparently, it’s not from MLK. It’s made up. It’s not real.

You know what, though? I feel pretty good about the quote anyway. There’s something uncomfortable to me in the celebration of the death of a human being. Capture, I might get behind. He probably deserved to face justice for his work to date.

But death? It just feels strange to celebrate a death.

I won’t go as far as Chris Douglas-Roberts, who tweeted the following.

Is this a celebration?? … Always read the fine print. … It took 919,967 deaths to kill that one guy. It took 10 years & 2 Wars to kill that…guy. It cost us (USA) roughly $1,188,263,000,000 to kill that………..guy. But we #winning though. Haaaa. (Sarcasm) … People are telling me to get out of America now b/c I’m against MORE INNOCENT people dying everyday? B/c I’m against a 10 year WAR? … What I’m sayin has nothing to do with 9/11 or that guy. I still feel bad for the 9/11 families but I feel EQUALLY bad for the war families. … What I’ve learned tonight, athletes shouldn’t have perspectives. But I don’t care. We feel certain ways about things TOO.

I share the sentiment to some extent, but with respect to the numbers he’s quoted I don’t think many in the administration would argue that all that money was dedicated to tracking down Bin Laden. Kudos to Douglas-Roberts for taking a difficult stance, and I’m with him in being anti-war in general.

My stance on Bin Laden’s death is mostly about anhedonia – lack of feeling. I don’t feel much here – a figurehead of an abstract group of terrorists is dead.

Yay?

[the atlantic and Yahoo’s Ball Don’t Lie blog]

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Sorta Serious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

