Egg Sandwich Breakthrough

I love my egg sandwiches. Goddamn I love them. All sorts of them, usually with a tomato, a cheese, and a runny-yolk egg.

But today was a little different.

I went to the kitchen and couldn’t decide if I wanted to do something Mexican or if I just wanted to spin up another classic egg sandwich. When I saw that I only had corn tortillas, and yet a scoop of refried beans remained, it was pretty much a fait accompli.

I present to you the Huevos Rancheros Open-Faced Sandwich:

Yeah, that’s right. Toasted wheat bread, tomato, salt, pepper, lettuce, cheddar cheese, refried beans, runny egg, salsa, sour cream – in that order. Why choose one cuisine or another if you can have both? I’m not sure I’ll even go back to tortillas, because the bread was crunchy, the tomatoes fresh, the egg piping hot, and it all worked so well together.

Absolutely fucking delicious.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

