I Don’t Know My Biological Father

But I don’t think it’s a big deal. I mean, once when I gave sperm I was disappointed to find out that I could not continue to give sperm for money because I could not fill out my biological history to their satisfaction. I also wonder from time to time what crazy diseases might be on my way from his side of the family.

But, mostly, he didn’t bother so I won’t. David Perez went and found his father and though the story is well written and touching, I kind of feel like I don’t need to rewrite that one. I’ve always thought a meeting between my biological and myself might end the way David’s did.

I’m not searching to fill some hole. I have a father, my step father. He’s been there since I was four, and even in different stages of our relationship I’ve always valued him as such. He gives me support and wisdom. He cares when another didn’t.

For my 30th birthday, my mother gave me books written by my biological father. After a few Google searches and a YouTube or two, I was done. Haven’t cracked the books yet. I guess, as a writer, I’m a little interested in the possibility that I inherited some voice. But I doubt it. And I don’t want to give him credit for anything, really.

So the books remain uncracked. And I won’t be contacting his publicist any time soon.

[The Good Men Project]

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Sorta Serious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

