New York Rules

Of course on almost all of these rules for New York. Having lived in Hell’s Kitchen, right next to Times Square, until just last year, I particularly like the first three:

1. Standing at the top of the subway stairs, blocking everyone coming in and out, to finish up a conversation on your cellphone, or to figure out where to go next, or to look at your giant map of the city. Step to the side or get fined!

2. Walking into the subway and immediately stopping just inside the doors. The conductor isn’t joking when he says to move inside the car.

3. Walking — or, more commonly, slow-as-fuck sauntering — more than two across on the sidewalk. People have places to go, so pick up the pace or don’t walk in enormous hordes.

But there’s two on there that I’ve done. I hope the ‘leaning on the subway pole’ thing only counts when the subway car is full, because how else am I going to read my magazine when the seats are taken but the car is still mostly empty? And that dovetails nicely into the other thing I’ve done: read while walking. I don’t know how I would have finished my commute all those years without a little walking while reading.

I know it pissed some people off, but I was pretty sure I could handle it. Never got run over or hit anyone!

But yeah, still a great list.

[feministe]

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in psychology, Ridiculous, Sorta Serious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

