Tapenade Sandwich Review

The Green Grape in Fort Greene, Brooklyn makes excellent sandwiches. I always make a point to stop by when I’m visiting friends. Today I ordered the Sabrina Special, which was very atypical of me. You see, I saw the ‘spicy pork tasso’ and ‘aged Grafton cheddar’ and got all excited and ordered. It wasn’t until I was tweeting that I saw the ‘homemade olive tapenade’ in the description.

Uh-oh.

I rushed to the counter but the deed was done. My acid reflux doesn’t really allow me to eat tapenades, but hopefully this one didn’t have raw garlic in it. He gave me a spoonful, and it didn’t seem like it. And the sandwich was just looking at me, mocking my manhood and calling me names.

So I ate it.

It’s a good sandwich, but part of the experience was still slightly scary. The tapenade adds a pungent, spicy power to the sandwich — and it’s actually overpowering at first. So much so that I only started really getting the spicy pork and the cheddar and the greens and the buttery roll once I was starting in on the second half of the sandwich.

It’s a tale of two halves. The first half is all tapenade. The second is a great mix of spice, and olive, and buttery roll, and sour greens. But to get to the second half you need the punch of the first half.

And here it is, two-plus hours later and I’m only a little dyspeptic, so that was good. I think I’ll try the curry chicken sandwich next time though.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Eats, sandwiches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

