Kimchi Mayonnaise Sandwich Review

I’m kind of weird about leftovers. I eye the remaining food at restaurants, trying to gauge the right time to stop eating in order to make sure that I actually have a full lunch portion remaining. Sometimes I do this for my wife and she gets upset. Sometimes I eat leftovers too late and get sick.

I like leftovers, in other words.

So today I head to the fridge happy to get the leftovers from Straits Cafe in Palo Alto. The food was delicious (if slightly overcooked in parts), and I was looking forward to some Asian fusion leftovers. I opened the leftovers…

Someone broke my leftover rules. They’d gone through the leftovers and eaten most of the proteins, leaving two measly shrimp in among a bunch of shredded carrots and bell peppers. Useless! I know who the culprit was, and it was his birthday, so he gets a pass. Next time, though…

So anyway, I still needed to do something. So of course I thought sandwich.

Two pieces of toasted wheat, the massaman curry vegetables, a fried egg with a runny yolk… and I still needed something. I remembered a friend talking about putting kimchi juice into mayo and whipping it around.

Bingo!

It was okay. It tasted mostly like massaman curry with a little bit of egg and only the slightest hint of kimchi mayo. Next time, I’ll put the mayo on something a lot more neutral tasting so that the kimchi sings more. Like roast beef.

Next time, maybe someone won’t EAT ALL THE MEAT OUT OF THE LEFTOVERS.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Eats, sandwiches, Sorta Serious. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kimchi Mayonnaise Sandwich Review

  1. Pingback: Theres Something Wrong With Me Curry Egg Sandwich Review | enosarris.com

Leave a Reply

