Kale Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich Review

Had some kale in the house, but didn’t want to try the typical lemon and garlic boil and fry that I keep finding when I search for recipes online. So last night I put together a pesto with the kale (inspired by this recipe) — a bunch of parboiled kale, some boiled garlic and shallots, a third of a cup of oil, and Parmesan, all blended up in the blender while warm. I forgot that parmesan was salty, so the added salt was a little too much, but then I added some red pepper and water and undid most of the damage.

Anyway, I immediately (like, while I was eating the pesto pasta) started thinking about putting this on a sandwich somehow. That’s just how I roll. You might know this by now.

Kale pesto. Avocado. Grilled cheese. Sandwich.

Yeah. That was great. Salty, two types of cheesy, fibrous greens, creamy avocado, crunchy bread, and the hint of the butter it was fried in. I’d eat that daily. Twice daily even.

So I don’t know if you can easily work this angle, but it was a great angle. Maybe the next time you plan on making a pesto, make sure you have some avocado and bread and cheddar cheese around. It’ll totally be worth it.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in sandwiches, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

