Incorporate Leftovers Sandwich Review

I’ve been asked this before, so don’t laugh when I pass on a question I got in a chat recently: How can I spice up my sandwiches?

It seems like such a natural thing to me, it’s hard to say. Would Michael Jordan make a good coach? I doubt it.

Joking aside, one thing can make your sandwich-making better: incorporating leftovers. Cook better food at night, and your sandwiches will be better at lunch-time.

For example, the other day I made some bison steaks on the grill, brushed with olive oil, sea salt, pepper and garlic powder. We had leftovers because my pregnant wife can eat for days but can’t eat full meals. If you’ve been following along, you know I didn’t mind.

Because today I made one of my favorite sandwiches with those bison steaks. Sliced ’em into long thing pieces, threw some Gruyere Swiss cheese on them, and threw them into the broiler. Toasted a baguette. Smeared some avocado on there. So. Good.

It’s not neuroscience, and obviously many of my sandwiches have included leftovers, but it’s worth being explicit. There are sandwiches out there to help, you know.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Eats, sandwiches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

