Top Three Sandwiches of the Year Review

Okay, so it’s lame. It’s a lame way to start the year. That’s fine — I’ve included one new sandwich so that’s it’s not all recycled. Plus, whatever, we all get our time off! Without further yammering, my top three sandwiches of the year, including TWO of my own because I’m egotistic like that.

3) Kale Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich Review: Kale pesto with avocado on top of a grilled cheese. It was a super-simple sandwich, but it had a fibrous green, so it wasn’t unhealthy. Then it had avocado and melted cheddar for soft, dairy goodness. And of course the crunch of the fried bread. It’s worth having Pesto around.

2) Cafe Borrone‘s Milk Bun plus Meatloaf: Just meatloaf on top of a soft, sweet milk bun with caramelized onions and some bacon. What was so great about this sandwich was this: so often I work for contrast in my sandwiches, even harmonious contrast. But I want soft and hard, crunchy and squishy, salty and sweet, acid and dairy — and so sometimes I forget that going hard at one type of taste works too. Borrone’s sandwich was all sweet and soft, but it was amazing. Because the onions were sweet, and the bacon wasn’t super crunchy, and the bun just melted in my mouth, it became just one taste: sweet/salty/mushy. Great!

1) Incorporate Leftovers Sandwich Review: Gruyere melted over avocado and bison on top of a baguette. I guess this one was just made by the fact that I had some rare bison left over from the grill, but that rare bison became medium/rare on the boiler, plus some melted gruyere, salt, pepper, avocado and the crunchy baguette… that became the harmony of contrast that I am always looking for.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in sandwiches. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

