National Beer Day Beers

Saturday was National Beer Day. I partook this weekend, in that honor (or at least that’s my story and I’m sticking to it).

Big Daddy IPA
This is a pretty standard IPA, available in most bars in the Bay Area, but I need a cold one from the fridge at BevMo and wasn’t feeling like Racer 5 IPA. Maybe I should have gone with Stone Ruination IPA. Okay, I should have. But sometimes you want to mix things up and there’s nothing wrong with a little Big Daddy.

Saison Dupont
I call this beer my session beer, and at 6.5% it’s not too heavy to fill that role. There’s more taste than your normal session beer, since it’s a Belgian Farmhouse Ale that has that patented Belgian tang to it, but it’s less “full” than a typical Belgian. It’s sorta like a Belgian Pilsner, which is about as awesome as it sounds. I’ve had the Foret from Brasserie Dupont, and that’s just an organic version of the Saison Dupont pretty much. I liked it just as much if not better.

Turbodog
This brown ale from Abita in New Orleans is excellent. It almost drinks like a choco porter, but it’s only 5.6% alcohol so it’s possible to have more of them than your typical choco porter. The Turbodog is an excellent choice for you porter-holics that want something a little lighter for whatever reason. As an IPA-er, I was comfortable with the little ‘dog in my hand, and would buy this again. Will try their other beers for sure.

Chatoe Rogue OREgasmic Ale
Meant to buy the dark lager that comes in this series from Rogue, but instead ended up with a fresh-hopped pale ale. Lots of bitterness, might have enjoyed a little more sweet to balance it out, but I enjoyed this beer. Next time I’ll actually get the dark lager I was aiming for, though. Hopefully.

Trappistes Rochefort
We actually got the 6, 8, and 10 from this series of Belgians, and they are as dark and as dank as your typical Belgian beer — but they might represent the culmination of that craft. The 8 was our goldilocks beer. The six was nice, but a little light. The ten was a bear, a beast, an 11.5% Belgian quad with all sorts of tastes, and I was glad to be sharing a pint with my brother in law. The 8 though? 9% or so, lots of taste, not too overwhelming. Goldilocks beer.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in beer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

