Short Week Base Ball

Yeah I’m a little late with this update. Blame GoDaddy!

Last week, I took on some less heralded topics. The Athletics offense is not heralded at all, and only ninth in run scoring in the American League, but the team is doing well, and that’s probably better than most thought that lineup could manage. So I took a look at how they are doing it. And Tom Layne is just your average lefty one out guy (LOOGY) to some, but he has two release points, and that might mean he’s got upside for more. Also, it seems that some pitches lend themselves well to multiple release points, and some don’t.

Maybe my high points last week were in the ‘random’ category. Like this one about the power of hope and Jason Bay‘s grand slam. I enjoyed that one. Or this one about “The Most Mostest Thing Ever” about rainbows and Pablo Sandoval‘s face.

Those certainly beat my yammering about missing out of the playoffs by the tiniest sliver in one of my leagues, even if there was something to learn from it all. I hope.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

