Serious Base Ball

Some weeks you just don’t feel silly. So I didn’t write any NotGraphs posts this week.

Instead, it was about the Most Under-Rated Giant, Gregor Blanco, who has used good defense and patience at a needed position to put up two wins above replacement, which is the traditional benchmark for an average player. And this is a guy that many Giants fans dislike or don’t even know. I know Brandon Crawford‘s defense has been good, but he has his fans, and Joaquin Arias has been useful, but I doubt his ability with the stick going forward.

I also broke down Adam Wainwright, who has hit a bad stretch, aka a ‘wall’ as narrative would have it. I looked as hard as I could and didn’t find anything wrong with him!

For fantasy, I took on Jim Johnson two different ways — the low-strikeout closer is hard to evaluate. Then I wanted to help fantasy players this weekend by looking at power and speed streamers and then good spot-starters.

Last but not least, I looked at some recent research that suggested that, for a fastball, velocity is most important, then location, then movement. This had implications for some interesting young pitchers including Jake Arrietta, Kris Medlen, and Henderson Alvarez.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

