Day Care Cold Base Ball

Apparently this is a thing, that your baby brings home colds from day care. And this one has laid the entire family low for the weekend, and postponed this post. But it’s time to update what I’ve written in the past week, at least that which stands the test of this time between updates.

This one should: Ryan Howard broke his toe by dropping a doughnut on it. Dude’s a little fat, but not that kind of doughnut — instead, he dropped one of the weights that many batters use to get ready for an at-bat on his toe, and his season was prematurely ended. The stupidest part of this story is that the practice doesn’t help, and could in fact hurt. So silly.

This week, I’ve been tasked with covering the Athletics against the Tigers in the first round. My preview had some interesting facts in it — Oakland is speedier than it’s ever been, and it hopes to use its depth and bullpen advantages in the series. Of course, after the first two games, this seems like a long shot, but I found two plate appearances that have encapsulated the series so far pretty well.

I’ve been doing a mini-series in which I poke fun at my fellow FanGraphs writers. Unsure how well it’s going over right now, but this last one made me laugh at least.

The fantasy readers might be interested in my Keeper Closer Rankings for RotoWorld, or my review of my 10 Bold Predictions, which went only half as bad as I thought it would. I also recapped what the AL MVP debate means for fantasy, which, paired with what the AL MVP debate means for the kids that look up to us, concludes my writing on the AL MVP debate. Hopefully.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

