Day Care Cold Base Balll

Man these day care colds are starting to get to me. Don’t have the best constitution, so always worried one of these will turn for the worse. So far so good in that column at least.

In the meantime, I wanted to point to my photo essay about the San Francisco Giants parade. There was some nakedness but I think the real star was the guy in the Tiger suit.

I did write a frustrating story about swing rates as the game goes on that was dedicated to Carlos Beltran and Miguel Cabrera for not swinging at the final pitch in their postseason series. There were some early signs that batters swung less as the game went on, but another look at the numbers showed that the only real effect that might be there is the fact that pitchers get the ball in the zone less as they see more batters. Baseball research is tough!

I also wrote up Kyle Seager, who broke out for the Mariners. I’m not willing to just give him his away numbers for the year like some are. I know the fences are changing in Seattle, but they can’t change the humidity there, so it’ll always play somewhat pitcher-friendly.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

