Big Project Base Ball

Phew. It took most of the night last night and much of the last month and a half, but I just finished my biggest project of the offseason: FanGraphs+. It’s a $5 annual of sorts, in which we research topics that are useful to fantasy baseball players, and then break down 1100+ players in short ‘player caps’ that help fantasy players get a quick sense of how useful a player can be in the coming season. We’ll have auction values and more, and it’s also a way to support the site. I need a nap.

Between that, and the crazy travel month that was January, my posting has been light. I had a thing about ideal players and how Brandon Phillips does so many things wrong, but is still a great player. It’s taken me a while to admit that you can provide value even if you don’t walk all the time, but it’s still hard for me sometimes. I shudder when I see a 5% walk rate.

Oh and this one is fun for everyone: Bat flips! Apparently they’re all over Japanese baseball. There’s a link in there with like five minutes of straight bat flips, including one that would start a brawl immediately if an American player attempted it.

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

