Finally Spring Base Ball

It may not feel like spring where you are, but in Northern California, Arizona (at least now that the snow is gone) and Florida, spring is here and baseball is being played. It even looks like major league baseball for the first three innings, before the minor leaguers get on the pitch.

Last week, I added another stats-based interview: I talked to George Kontos of the Giants about platoon splits on his pitches and his development. What he told me about Tommy John surgery surprised me. He found more than health in the surgery and its aftermath.

Then I took a look at closers in general and Bruce Rondon in Detroit specifically. They’re usually a bad free agent bet, so the current plan in Tiger town is probably the best one. Even if Rondon sometimes can’t hit the broad side of a barn.

Over at Getting Blanked, I recapped the research that my guys at RotoGraphs did on finding a link between batted ball data and expected home runs per fly ball. Basically, if your guy hit the ball 15 feet further on average last season, he can be expected to retain some of that power surge this year. Especially if he’s young. Good news for some interesting players.

I love the guys at Pitchfork. So I wrote a review of pitcher Trevor Bauer‘s rap… in true Pitchfork style. One of the commenters gave me a swift kick in the groin.

At RotoGraphs, we’re working through the depth charts while I work on a re-design behind the scenes. I’m covering the bullpens, one division at a time, for RotoWorld. I’m off to Arizona this weekend for a draft in a fantasy league that has been playing the game longer than I have, which should be a lot of fun, and I’ll duck into a game or two to see if I can talk to some players. And the beer website now has over 20 writers, a CTO working on the website design, and early access to numbers from untappd… so it’s all happening!

About enosarris

I write. About baseball, mostly, but also about the anthropology of sports, travel, cooking and sometimes music. But yeah, baseball mostly.
This entry was posted in Baseball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

